Turkish Pop

The average Turk in Istanbul doesn’t speak English well enough to have a lengthy conversation. So, I think you would understand that I found it odd that everyone prefers American Pop to Turkish Pop. Even adults get their fingers tapping and heads bobbing to Katy Perry and Pitbull. If only they knew what Katy Perry means when she sings about Peacocks – perhaps it’s for the best.

American Pop prevails in Turkey. I wondered why this was so, and after spending 6 months in Istanbul using public transportation that plays Turkish Pop, I get it. Turkish Pop kind of sucks. I also think American Pop sucks, but Turkish Pop lacks everything, while American Pop just lacks a lot of things.

However, every cloud has a silver lining. Good Turkish songs become classics quickly and it is easy to spot the good songs. If they don’t sound like every other Turkish song on the radio, then it’s a hit!

I have saved you the trouble of weeding these two out yourselves. The first song is an ode to Istanbul. The second song has been on the radio and I like it!

Artist: Teoman

Song: “Istanbul’da son bahar” (“The last autumn in Istanbul”)

Language: Turkish

Artist: Mustafa Ceceli

Song: “Es” (“Blowing wind”)

Language: Turkish

Leave a comment